• Most important architectural awards around the world

The most important architectural awards around the world that are awarded to professionals in architecture and interior design,

we will set our eyes on the major and most prestigious international awards.


  • Pritzker Prize

It is one of the most prestigious and standard awards for architecture professionals worldwide that has been awarded by the Hayat Foundation since 1979.

Pritzker has already been awarded to architects from all continents, with the exception of Africa.

The Pritzker Prize is an award given annually to honor an architect who is still alive.

It began in 1979 and was started by Jay Pritzker and his wife Cindy, and it is still managed by his family until now.

It is considered the largest and most important award in the field of architecture in the world and is often referred to as the Nobel Prize for Architecture.

This award is awarded “regardless of nationality, race, creed, or ideology,”

with the winner receiving $ 100,000 and a certificate of appreciation.

Since 1987 the awardees have also started awarding the winner a bronze medal,

with designs inspired by the work of the architect, “Louis Sullivan”.

The most important value of the prize is the fame and respect that the winner will gain worldwide.


Most important architectural awards around the world
Most important architectural awards around the world


  • The Medal of Alvar Aalto

The Aalto Alvar Medal is another prestigious award that has been awarded since 1967 by the Finnish Museum of Architecture and the Finnish Society of Architects.

The medal has been awarded intermittently since 1967 when the medal was established in honor of Alvar Aalto.

The award is given in recognition of significant contributions to creative architecture.

The common denominator of the professionals who earn honors is their creativity.


  • RIBA Gold Medal

The RIBA Award or the Royal Gold Medal for Architecture is awarded annually by the Royal Institute of British Architects on behalf of Britain’s Queen “Elizabeth II”,

in recognition of an individual or group for the significant contribution in the field of global architecture.

It is one of the oldest international architectural awards, as it was issued in 1848, and since that year in the architectural journey that took place for three centuries to the present day,

this award stands as a reference or an encyclopedia of the names that marked the history of the specialty.

Among the names it has acquired are “Charles Robert Cockerell”, “Charles Fallen McKim”, “Ernest Newton”, “Frank Lloyd Wright”, “Le Corpsier”,

“Kenzo Tanga”, “Berthold and Petkin”, “Norman Foster”, ”  Raphael Moneo, Zaha Hadid.

The first exception to the terms of this award occurred in 1999,

when the Foundation awarded the gold medal to Barcelona instead of the professionals.

The jury’s decision was justified by the uniqueness of the regeneration the city had achieved “in the two decades following the restoration of democracy” and “setting a fine example for other cities, especially London.”

Therefore, RIBA arranged a departure from tradition in order to honor the city,

its government, its citizens, and its design artists.


Most important architectural awards around the world
Most important architectural awards around the world


  • The Aga Khan Award for Architecture

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture has been awarded every three years since 1977,

and prized projects set new standards for excellence, planning, and preservation of history and landscape architecture.

This award has already been awarded until 2019 to more than 120 projects,

and it seeks to define and promote building concepts that successfully meet the needs and aspirations of societies in which Muslims have a significant presence.

In the last three wave of awards, IDOM Group from Bilbao, Spain received one of them,

for a lecture hall design that it exhibited on the campus of Aliune Diop University in Bambi, Senegal.

The study faced the challenge of a pocket that easily exceeds 40 ° in temperature,

and thanks to its intervention, students since 2017 have been able to attend training courses in a cooler environment.

This was thanks to the use of materials based on a structural grid with concrete, beams and columns that facilitated on-site prefabrication.

Likewise, the reflective sandwich panel roof displaces hot air outside with a bioclimatic reinforcement from the inside made of gravel and plants.


Most important architectural awards around the world
Most important architectural awards around the world


  • Dreyhouse Prize for Classical Architecture

The Driehaus Prize has been awarded since 2003 by the School of Architecture at Notre Dame University Indiana (USA).

Focusing on architects who practice classical and traditional architectural heritage and above concrete projects,

this award recognizes professional jobs.

Although the 2020 handover ceremony has been canceled due to the coronavirus health crisis, this year’s winner is Thai Ong-ardSatrabhandhu.

His work shows innovation within tradition, and his projects have a unique beauty that results from integrating lessons from years of schooling in diverse cultures.

The buildings resulting from his work blend seamlessly with the local traditions of Thailand.

You May Like: Ideas to improve storage space in the kitchen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

nineteen + twelve =